Shifting Mirrors Teaser: The Big Fade Away Part I – Are You Sitting Comfortably

It’s never been about you, it’s always been about her. And now, she’s gone…

When I was 18 years old, I set myself an odd and, in hindsight, a bad challenge: to write an epic song of 20 minutes at least. Whereas normally songs like this feel forced and don’t work because too much is written into it, oddly enough it worked out alright for this one!

‘The Intricate Usage of Fading Sounds’ as this collection of songs was called at the time, used to be a fictional story where I continued the tale of the man I previously wrote about in ‘Marooned’. I felt his story wasn’t over yet and continued it to see where it would take me. At the time, however, I felt the ending part never really justified the rest of the song, so I put this one on ice and waited until I felt the right inspiration.

When I was rewriting the tracks for ‘Shifting Mirrors’, I noticed the now fictional story of a heartbroken man was actually non-fictional, given I was still reeling from never having said my goodbyes to a certain ex girlfriend of mine. You’d suspect a grown up man wouldn’t have need for such a dragging issue, let alone something that had happened several years prior to rewriting these tunes. But now, this ghost has been laid to rest and all that remains is the beauty of the song.

The first part of this track, ‘Are You Sitting Comfortably?’ ( originally known as ‘Comfort Zone’) was a poetic piece about having been replaced by my ex lover,  originally set to this pulsating synth with a drum computer steadily mapping out the song ahead. Its intro however is an acoustic guitar piece that finds itself repeated several times throughout the entire epic as a leitmotif, as if to function as a means of help to the narrator. The song ends abruptly to make way for the second part of ‘The Big Fade Away’. Just the way I like it 🙂

 

Are You Sitting Comfortably?
——–
I: Are You Sitting Comfortably ( R.d.G)

Seems you’ve made up your mind
Took your knife and stabbed my heart
You sit there and think what to say
Like you would from the start

You’ll say it’s not your fault
And then you’ll try to walk away
You know I won’t believe you
but you don’t care anyway

Tell me
Are you thinking of him?
Are you thinking of me?
Tell me, are you sitting comfortably?

Leave a Reply

