Shifting Mirrors Teaser: Inches To Fall

A lack of self esteem has been quite an issue for me during my life. Highschool was known as Hell© to me, so hiding and trying not to stand out in the crowd almost became like a sport to me. This in turn also affected my musical career, as I have hidden my music away until three years ago when I first went online with my tunes. Needless to say, I’m glad I stepped into the light!

Originally known as ‘Depth Charge’, this track was written due to the frustration that came from this issue, lyrically telling several stories I went through at the time. Musically, this started out as a piano only song, but I changed the middle part and added more instruments to the whole, making the ending quite loud and uplifting, even though the lyrics don’t really bring that across. It’s like a little mini epic, though clocking in at around 5 and a half minutes 🙂 No one said prog has to be 20 minutes or more all the time!

Inches To Fall
—–
Inches To Fall ( R.d.G)

Racing all the way through your mind
All you could do was study, but nothing you could find
You sit and wonder how to deal with the delay
of having to retry this all at the end of the day

(Chorus)
Were you really that close and yet so far away
Are you just sitting there behind the eight-ball
Or can you see you’re not always the one that has to pay
Don’t you know you’re only inches to fall

Pacing all the way through your mind
All you find is the exit, it’s been there right from the start
You sit and ponder how this happened all along
burying head in your hands, you know you were wrong

(Chorus)
Were you really that close and yet so far away
Did she ignore you, did she resist the call
Or can you see you’re not always the one that has to pay
Don’t you know you’re only inches to fall

I’ve seen you running here before
Speeding the long mile
You’ve been here quite a while

I’ve seen you running here before
Trapped here all the while
Thinking you’re an exile

(Solo)

Look out the window, what do you see
Do you see kids, playing and feeling free
How you wish to be just like them and climb that tree
But know that you’re stuck here under lock and key

Look into the mirror, what do you see
Do you see a man who isn’t free
Who wants a new life, something new to see
You’ll say that it’s you, I’ll say that it’s me…

(Fade)

Leave a Reply

