Gears of War part trois…

while shifting up a gear for the recordings of ‘Shifting Mirrors’ Ive  found several pieces of gear either need updating, replacement or simple adjustments. Right now, I’ve found I’m rethinking string gauges again for my guitars.

I’m not the strongest guitar player in the world. Not only am I not so good at guitar shredding ( never really felt the need for it) but also my fingers aren’t keeping up with guitar playing. So right now, I’m rethinking what string gauges I want to use on my guitars. Given that both my electric guitars are tuned to Drop-D, I use .011-0.52 on both of them to great effect. I can riff and still bend a note. But bending notes is proving an issue when solo’ing, so I’m thinking of going for light top/heavy bottom. Probably 0.10-.052, but I’ll be checking this out thoroughly.

Other than that, I’m working out how to obtain one of my dream guitars, which is nothing less than this baby right here:

Steinberger GT Pro deluxe

Most quirky guitar I have ever seen and yet, I want it. It’s got the configuration I use most, I can block the tremolo by a simple switch and convert it to a fixed bridge guitar, detune it to drop D if required and back easily and look amazing! Let’s be honest, a left handed guitarist sporting one of these babies is a thing to behold! 😀 Getting the strings in the gauges that I use is going to be a bit of a b*tch, but I don’t care. Now all I need to do is find a lefty! There are also other little plans afoot for other pieces of gear, but that’ll work out itself in time.

Quick unrelated sidenote: Watch this space, as I will post more about ‘Shifting Mirrors’ in the coming months. 🙂

Leave a Reply

